Home News THIS IS THE LAST TIME Release ‘Acclimation’ Album / Final Video Released

THIS IS THE LAST TIME Release ‘Acclimation’ Album / Final Video Released

by Natas Dog

U.S. Instrumental Metal band THIS IS THE LAST TIME has released debut album Acclimation on digital and vinyl formats. The vinyl LP version is available from the band, as well as through Here is Nowhere Records, Dead Red Queen Records, and Drown Within Records.

Acclimation is a sweeping instrumental album that spans the genre and further, nodding to the likes of bands as varied as ISIS, Year Of No Light, In Flames, BTBAM, Gorguts and Pelican. The band worked tirelessly to create an instrumental album crafted specifically to circumvent the need for a vocal performance and create music that is just as creative and catchy as anything with words. Notsch describes the album as a pop-metal album because of the sweeping melodies and many major-scale/uplifting parts. “We were in the height of lockdown in NYC, there was the sound of ambulances non stop for two months straight despite not a seeing a soul on the street, I wanted to create a sense of optimism in the middle of the darkness. Acclimation seeks to build that optimism and adapt to the current state of the world. We intended to write a feel good / strolling on a beautiful summer day album, but with a ton of blast beats.” 

Formed during the initial Covid lockdown of 2020 and written and recorded remotely between NYC and the Midwest, THIS IS THE LAST TIME features past and current members of Sunless, Orwell, Iron Thrones and Poney. Head songwriter, guitarist and visual director Andrew Notsch (ex-Sunless, current: Manipulator) initiated the project and recruited Tim Bradley (ex-Orwell) for guitar and writing/arrangement. Bass was supplied by Tyler Spatz (Poney) who rounded out the low end.

Drum programming was handled by Taylor Hamel (Sunless) and polished by Adam Tucker of Signaturetone Recording who compiled the individual recordings and produced the album. Additional guitar accompaniments and atmospherics were contributed by Steve Henningsgard (Iron Thrones). Additional synth parts were performed by both Spatz and Notsch. 

“Visually, we wanted to mirror the concept of the album by creating visuals that were both slightly spooky, but encouraging. A rainbow cloud moving through a dark forest was both a nod to our metal influences and also something more uplifting.“

Thinking of themselves more as a collective of musicians than a band, the group is already working on new material and has plans to release music on a semi-regular basis.

Track Listing:
1. I – Acclimation
2. II – Turing Test Results
3. III – Ipanema Blue
4. IIII – Small Framed Deliberate Fast Simple Feelings
Album Credits:
All tracks recorded individually at Home 
Produced / Mixed / Mastered By Adam Tucker
Art / Layout by Andrew Notsch (Hollowdusk)
Logo by Christophe Szpajdel 

0 comment

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: