Home ReviewsReleases TesseracT released video for “Hexes”

TesseracT released video for “Hexes”

by Vedrana Dobrić

UK progressive act TesseracT have released a new music video for their track titled “Hexes”. Directed by George Laycock (Blacktide Phonic/Visual) and conceptualized by singer Daniel Tompkins and bassist Amos Williams, this is the second music video the band has released from their most recent LP “Polaris” which came out last year.

Singer said:

“Hexes” represents a vivid dream and distant memory. One of holding onto the secrets between two people; a history shrouded in secrecy. To maintain the intimate and personal nature of the concept, we knew that we needed a video director that didn’t simply understand the lyrics but someone who could connect to the intensity of the music, and was willing to work closely together in creating the right visuals.

On first contact with Blacktide we knew that we had found the right team. The video was shot over four different locations scattered across the UK including Leicester’s National Space Centre, where we filmed some striking footage from inside a replica of the Columbus module from the International Space Station; shot in the early hours while the centre was closed to the public. Without a doubt “Hexes” is the most cohesive and impactful video we have made to date and we’re extremely proud of the end result.

To coincide with TesseracT touring the US with Gojira this month, Kscope will be releasing a 2-disc tour edition of their studio album Polaris on September 16th.

The new 2016 edition of “Polaris” will be released with a bonus second disc “Errai” which features four re-worked tracks from Polaris – “Survival”, “Cages”, “Tourniquet” and “Seven Names”. The tracks have been re-imagined by the band’s long time live producer and sound engineer Aidan O’Brien. Along with the new song interpretations the cover art of new edition of “Polaris” has been given a 2016 make-over by artist Dan Mumford. “Survival” (Re-imagined) is streaming below.

O’Brien said on being asked to work on the project:

I’ve been lucky enough to contribute to various bits of TesseracT material since the “Perspective” EP back in 2012, but it was a thrill and an honour to be asked to have a much more involved role in working on reimagining four of the tracks from “Polaris”. Being given the chance to offer my interpretations of the songs at the core of these wonderfully nuanced and complex arrangements, as well as the chance to work closely with such talented musicians, was hugely exciting and I’m extremely proud of the results. It’s still unmistakably TesseracT, but from an angle I think a lot of people won’t have heard before.

Tompkins commented:

It’s been fantastic to re-visit & re-work the vocals to some of the Polaris tracks from a different angle and with the benefit of time and space. The normal process of writing TesseracT songs starts with the creation of the music followed by the lyrical content; this time Acle and Aidan have stripped away the music and re-created the songs based around the vocals. As a result this has allowed much more breathing space between both and also highlighted much more detail in the performance.


TesseracT – Polaris (Disc 1)
1. Dystopia
2. Hexes
3. Survival
4. Tourniquet
5. Utopia
6. Phoenix
7. Messenger
8. Cages
9. Seven Names

TesseracT – Errai EP (Disc 2)
1. Survival (Re-imagined)
2. Cages (Re-imagined)
3. Tourniquet (Re-imagined)
4. Seven Names (Re-imagined)

The Polaris Tour Edition will be released as a 2 CD set, with “Errai” being released as a stand-alone 180g heavyweight clear vinyl with enclosed download code. Check out the dates below!


0 comment

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: