Home ReviewsReleases Review: Torvara – Killing Culture

Review: Torvara – Killing Culture

by Miloš Šebalj

Torvara – Killing Culture

  1. Blood Forest
  2. Blindness
  3. Woundless War
  4. Killing Culture
  5. No Return
  6. Slave Of Christianity
  7. Submit And Obey
Label: Satanic Records
Release date: February 22, 2017

“Killing Culture” is a swansong for Torvara. After the death of their guitar player, the rest of the band decided to call it quits. Respectable move, for sure. Well, they do have a more recent split release with the final songs recorded with the man who called himself M.

This is the only full-length release of this Italian quartet. I was a bit skeptical with the songs lasting around 5 minutes on average, especially considering the genre these guys represented. There are not too many bands who have enough ideas to make such long songs versatile enough not to repeat the same riff over and over again. Furthermore, Torvara plays a primitive version of Blackened Thrash Metal, with some Punk influences. The opening track didn’t leave too good impression, so I was ready to discard the whole CD as a waste of time. “Blood Forest” is just as you would expect, with regards to the above mentioned. Raw, second wave worship, with no distinctive lines to separate the Italians from a plethora of similar acts. However, the very next track set things straight. First and foremost, with rhythm section playing a more distinctive role. While the guitar has a tendency to stand out from time to time, with fairly creative riffing solutions, the drums are the key factor here, as well as on the rest of the record. That way, Torvara got themselves a fresh injection of energy to supply these 34 minutes of music. The album is pretty fast most of the time, with passages varying among all three mentioned genres, which are very well connected to each other (again, by the creative drum patterns). Torvara doesn’t fear the slower moments, like in the “No Return”, where the heavy atmosphere rules the track, along with nice guitar leads. The screaming vocals are decent enough not to ruin the feel of the album, although they could be a bit better, more powerful. Lyrically, Italians still lack the language skills to write in English, although I have heard much worse. Topics are intertwined between the expected Black and Thrash Metal ones, social and antireligious.

I wanted to complain about the production work here, since it seemed a bit “muddy” to my ears. However, it grew on me somehow, so I don’t notice it anymore. On the other hand, I must say that the cover artwork had to be better. Still, if you don’t care about the picture, and prefer music instead, this album should be good enough to satisfy your appetite. It’s a pity we will not hear more stuff from this band.


You may also like