Home ReviewsReleases Review: The Hawkins – Silence is a Bomb

Review: The Hawkins – Silence is a Bomb

by Lukrecija Mesek
The Hawkins -Silence is a Bomb

1. Silence is a Bomb
2. Roomer
3. Hilow
4. Stones
5. Mynah
6. Minuette
7. Cut Moon Bleeds
8. Libertine
9. Stranger in the Next Room
10. Black Gold
11. Fisherman Blues
12. All My Birds Are Dead

Label: The Sign Records
Release date: September 4, 2020

The Hawkins is a 4-piece Rock’n’Roll band from the deep woods of Arboga, Sweden.

When it comes to music it suppose to be a blues-based Deep Purple-like rock to a more punk-influenced history and on to an rocking groove with a sustained goal to always swing sharply! I’m so deeply sorry, but I don’t see it that way. For me they sound like those pop-rock bands from the begining of 2000’s, still that doesn’t mean that they are bad. I do remember how I use to jump around while listening to those op-rock bands screaming their lyrics with the whole might of my lungs. Ah, the throw back. Anyway.

Let’s see what  Johannes Carlsson (Lead vocals/Guitar), Mikael Thunborg (Guitar/Background vocals), Albin Grill (Drums/Background vocals), and Martin Larsson (Bass) have been up to and what they brought to us this time.

During the first four years The Hawkins kept the ball rolling by releasing EPs and singles while constantly being on the road, playing everything from small venue gigs to some of the biggest festivals in Scandinavia, including Sweden Rock Festival, Metallsvenskan and Peace & Love. They ended the year of 2016 with a huge bang by flying over to Russia to support pop/punk act 4 Aprils on a 10 day tour.

The Hawkins debut album “Ain’t Rock N Roll” (released via GAIN/Sony Music) was released in October 2017. The album included the single “Fuck You All I’m Outta Here”, which quickly gained momentum in the Swedish rock scene, securing the band’s role as one the most promising bands of the country.

Now in 2020 The Hawkins has partnered up with The Sign Records and they’re finally back with a new album entitled “Silence is a Bomb”. And we are here to see what this is all about.

Right from the start I got bitch slap in the face and I was literally praying that this is not how the rest of the album will sound like. Title song “Silence is a Bomb” is the weirdest song on this album. It sounds like unfinished attempt of recording and the ending of the song is reminding me on one piece that is part of “Repo! Genetic Opera”. Also it seems like it’s not mixed or mastered at all, like they just recorded it and immediately put it on the album.

Luckily, the rest of the album is really good. Really energetic and chaotic. I did hear the variations that Johannes is doing with his voice and I’m really impressed. Mixing and mastering of the rest of the album is done really good. You can hear each and every single element of the song so clearly. Guitars aren’t smothering voice and the bass and drums are making nice whole. If you are feeling down, this album could cheer you up easily, because with this music you can’t be anything else but happy. So, in conclusion it’s is really good work of art. I might even put it in my “summer collection”. 

You may also like