Home ReviewsReleases Review: The Black Keys – Let’s Rock

Review: The Black Keys – Let’s Rock

by Ante Topic
The Black Keyes
The Black Keyes

The Black Keyes – Let’s Rock

1. Shine A Little Light
2. Eagle Birds
3. Lo/Hi
4. Walk Across The Water
5. Tell Me Lies
6. Every Little Thing
7. Get Yourself Together
8. Sit Around And Miss You
9. Go
10. Breaking Down
11. Under The Gun
12. Walk With Me

Label: Nonesuch Records
Date: June 28, 2019

I’ve got to admit that I had very little knowledge of The Black Keys before throwing my ears on their latest release, “Let’s Rock’”, you know, just the hit songs and stuff.  So, what made me do this review? Well, I’ll keep the answer to myself but musically, I’m satisfied. More or less.

“Shine A Little Light” is great opener and in my humble opinion one of the best songs from this release. The album continues in that “70’s” feel with the influences from bands such as ZZ Top, Led Zeppelin, AC/DC, Fleetwood Mac, The Eagles, The Rolling Stones, The Beatles, CCR, T. Rex and so on and on.

Other songs that caught my attention are “Lo/Hi, Get Yourself Together, Go” and slightly slower “Breaking Down”. The rest of the album is pretty good too but even among above mentioned songs there is nothing new or innovative.

There’s no need to write pages and pages about this album because it does what it says it does – let’s rock!

I read somewhere that “Let’s Rock” has got sound of a band that plays on moto-parties… Well, that kinda is truth to be honest but I don’t have any problems with that so if you are someone who’s into classic rock and blues rock you might like this one.

Having said all of this, I give this album a thumbs up!

Oh, and here is a fun fact! “Let’s rock” were the final words of a man who was being executed by electric chair in Tennessee the day they were recording the album, hence the album cover.

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: