Home ReviewsReleases Review: Svarttjern – Shame Is Just A Word

Review: Svarttjern – Shame Is Just A Word

by Aleksandar Saradžić


Svarttjern – Shame Is Just A Word

1. Prince Of Disgust
2. Ment Til Å Tjene
3. Melodies Of Lust
4. Ta Dets Drakt
5. Frost Embalmed Abyss
6. Ravish Me
7. Bonded By Blood (Exodus Cover)
8. Shame Is Just A Word

Label: Soulseller Records
Date: January 17, 2020

After four years of dwelling in silence, finally this outlaws came with a new effort. Along Koldbrann this is probably the only remaining band that carries forth the sign of True Norwegian Black Metal sound. It is filthy, rotten, drenched in black tar and still awesome as fuck.

Svarttjern brought to us eight new songs and among them there is Exodus’ cover song, overall something around 35 minutes of grim black metal art which is a little bit forgotten these days. Today bands usually go for crystal-clear production and forget about atmosphere and effect of their music on listeners. That is not case with “Shame Is Just a Word” album.

Ok, that doesn’t mean that you will listen some lo-fi shit recorded in a washing-machine. This album possess great production and masterwork around the sound. But yet they managed to save spirit and atmosphere of TNBM untouched with production or some technical stuff.

Nothing revolutionary can be said for this album. This material is total past-comes-to-life stuff, which is really great thing. Svarttjern members really made to pull out 90’s atmosphere from cold Norway into living and breathing flesh of presence. If you are ready for the trip into the quality-over-quantity past, follow the traces of Svarttjern and Soulseller Records. They’ll show you why shame is just a word!

You may also like