Home ReviewsReleases Review: Soulfly – Ritual

Review: Soulfly – Ritual

by Lukrecija Mesek

Soulfly – Ritual

1. Ritual
2. Dead Behind the Eyes” (featuring Randy Blythe)
3. The Summoning
4. Evil Empowered
5. Under Rapture (featuring Ross Dolan)
6. Demonized
7. Blood on the Street
8. Bite the Bullet
9. Feedback!
10. Soulfly XI (Instrumental)

Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Date: October 19, 2018

Two decades into their storied career, Soulfly continue to engender near cultish zeal with each subsequent album and tour. In that sense, the group’s eleventh full-length, “Ritual” (Nuclear Blast), lives up to the promise of its name with a metallic ceremony of the highest order. The iconic gold-certified quartet—Max Cavalera (vocals, guitar), Marc Rizzo (lead guitar), Zyon Cavalera (drums), and Mike Leon (bass)—cast their word in bludgeoning riffs, thunderous percussion, and menacing growls. The title proves apropos to say the least.

Max affirms with smile:

I’ve always felt that metal is very ritualisticI also like one word titles.

I guess that I don’t have to say much more about Soulfly than that they have blown my mind away. Album “Ritual” is truly work of art. With first notes on the title track “Ritual” I was pumped with energy and feeling continued while listening whole album.  Each song on this album has it’s soul and makes it unique. Different elements that are added, like chanting, tribe singing and ritual drums are making whole story more interesting. The journey that this album brings us ends with really beautiful and chill instrumental “Soulfly XI”.  Over all this album is definitely going in my personal collection. Definitely recommended.

0 comment

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: