Home ReviewsReleases Review: Slayer – The Repentless Killogy: Live At The Forum In Inglewood

Review: Slayer – The Repentless Killogy: Live At The Forum In Inglewood

by Ivona Bogner



Slayer – The Repentless Killogy: Live At The Forum In Inglewood

1. Delusions Of Saviour
2. Repentless
3. The Antichrist
4. Disciple
5. Postmortem
6. Hate Worldwide
7. War Ensemble
8. When The Stillness Comes
9. You Against You
10. Mandatory Suicide
11. Hallowed Point
12. Dead Skin Mask
13. Born Of Fire
14. Cast The First Stone
15. Bloodline
16. Seasons In The Abyss
17. Hell Awaits
18. South Of Heaven
19. Raining Blood
20. Chemical Warfare
21. Angel Of Death

Label: Nuclear Blast
Date: November 8, 2019

July 9, 2005, Exit Festival Novi Sad. The first time I have seen Slayer. Six of us were traveling from Belgrade. Train-only goats missing to feel like we are in India. Three seats, six already extremely tired people and three hours ride. As we were approaching Novi Sad, it started to rain. As Slayers′s show was coming closer, the rain intensified. By the time Slayer hit the stage, it was flood. People were stuck in mud, the craziest ones were bare feet in mosh pit (read swinery).

As we were rushing back to the bus station with goal to catch the last bus back to home sweet home, we survived sliding through dark fortress tunnels, pontoon bridge over the Danube and drunk taxi driver. If you think that was the end of our adventure… No! Bus driver didn’t want to let us get in damn bus cause we were dirty! Bottle of mineral water payed as gold in nearby store and we are in!

The battlefield has left behind and outlined in memory of all those who were that night in Novi Sad. In the meantime, another Slayer show in Belgrade was canceled. Luck of interest, it was said. The truth is, tickets were extremely expensive for average Serbian fan. Couple of years later, finally, Slayer came back to Serbia, this time on June 25, 2011. And guess what? Rainy day again!

As it was regular show, Slayer had support bands. One local which most fans just skipped, and another legend, Newsted. As Slayer flag dedicated to legendary Hanneman dropped, I caught few tears here and there. We all know why.

I deeply believed I will hear more from Slayer in the years to come, but… On January 22, 2018, Slayer announced Farewell Tour. That news hit fans all over the world like thunder strike. We all believed the decision was not final.

November 29/30, 2019 must be the most significant days in Slayer′s career. Inglewood Forum in Los Angeles was marked in band′s calendar as the venue of their last shows. Back in 2017…

Slayer announced at the same place (Inglewood Forum) that the show held there was going to be filmed and recorded for a future live release. After a period of silence, “The Repentless Killogy” was finally released. Album includes full live recording show from 2017 followed by narrative short film that stars Jason Trost, Danny Trejo, Richard Speight, Derek Mears, Jorma Taccone, Jessica Pimentel, Tyler Mane, Bill Mosley and Caroline Williams and animated feature.

The live album itself brings us all we could expect from Slayer: brutality, aggression, chaos, energy, catharsis… 38 years are packed in exact one hour, twenty seven minutes and thirty seven seconds. “The Repentless Killogy” is great collection of old and new songs. Thrash metal grandpas maybe physically got older, but they never got tired or less energetic.

Over those 38 years Slayer changed a lot… In 2013 Jeff Hanneman passed away. He was replaced by Gary Holt. Dave Lombardo has been drumming in some other bands. Paul Bostaph is here and there… The bottom line: we are in 2020, not in 1981. World is changing. People are getting older. People are changing. Old bands retires leaving the legacy behind… On their ashes new bands are rising. Life cycle it seems…

Today, after holiday season, I am staring at my computer at one of the photos from The Final World Tour (The Farewell Tour) particularly one when Tom Araya waves and looks above with sadness in his eyes. That photo perfectly reflects Araya’s emotions and easily brings tears to eyes.

Reading his words dedicated to fans feels me proud to be a part of Slayer Nation.

Thank you. Thank you very much. I want to thank you for sharing your time with us. Time is precious. So I thank you for sharing that time with us. Thank you. I’m gonna miss you guys. But the most important thing I want to thank you for being a part of my life. Thank you. Good night. You guys be safe.

All I can say is the same:

Thank you guys for sharing your music with us. I am terribly gonna miss you. Thank you for being part of my life. Take care!

You may also like