Home ReviewsReleases Review: Possessed – Revelations Of Oblivion

Review: Possessed – Revelations Of Oblivion

by Aleksandar Saradžić

Possessed – Revelations Of Oblivion

1. Chant of Oblivion
2. No More Room in Hell
3. Dominion
4. Damned
5. Demon
6. Abandoned
7. Shadowcult
8. Omen
9. Ritual
10. The Word
11. Graven
12. Temple of Samael

Label: Nuclear Blast
Date: May 10, 2019

Thirty-three years after “Beyond the Gates” full-length, Possessed took thirty-three years to made and release new, their third full-length material. I was more than just sceptic about this one. It is their first album after decades of silence. And since Possessed is one of my favourite bands in metal genre I didn’t want to taint my memory and feelings toward them and their first two full-lenghts just because the new one possibly can be shit.

Led by the now already legendary Jeff Becerra, the band gave us this new one and it is an absolute killer of an album! If we waited for more than thirty years for this, it pays well, it pays totally! Album “Revelations of Oblivion” is a fresh breeze of eighties nostalgia of death/thrash metal madness in todays world of plastic production, shitty arrangements and soulless music. Especially if you look on the fact that they are signed for one of the best and biggest major labels in metal, Nuclear Blast. Usually bands from major and that big mainstream publishers are all fancy, plastic and without any interesting moment in their music.

Where “Beyond the Gates” stop, this one continue in a glorious way. This is a modern masterpiece and instant evergreen within metal world. Possessed is back with the biggest bang! Jeff and the guys brought us almost 54 minutes of real, violent and maniacal pleasure in audio form. There is no time to waste or for some bullshits. This is straight in your face madness what we all expected from Possessed. Apparently long period without an album did not affect Possessed and their creative process. As I said already, when you listen to this album, you will think that it was recorded in the eighties and that it belongs to the metal music classics for decades.

Among the many skeptics like myself, the biggest quest comes about production. It would be really stupid to hear Possessed in a plastic 21st century production. Simply, this band needs to have that “analog” apprehension in its sound. Mix and mastering process was made by the real mastermind when it comes to death metal sound, mighty Peter Tägtgren. But beside him the best job was made by Daniel Gonzalez in role of co-producer and  Jeff Becerra like a main producer. Like they knew that fans will like their back to the roots and sound that made them famous.

This time they summon 12 anthems of majestic death/thrash metal sound. Inspired with themes like Satanism, occultism, anti-christianity, murder and death; Jeff’s vocal again brought us one step closer to his vision of the world, everything was perfectly fit into aggressive and dark music. “Revelations of Oblivion” must be everyone’s choice if they like metal from the eighties and their sound and spirit.

You may also like