Home ReviewsReleases Review: Burzum – Thulêan Mysteries

Review: Burzum – Thulêan Mysteries

by Darko Rajic


Burzum – Thulêan Mysteries

1. The Sacred Well
2. The Loss of a Hero
3. ForeBears
4. A Thulêan Perspective
5. Gathering of Herbs
6. Heill auk Sæll
7. Jötunnheimr
8. Spell-Lake Forest
9. The Ettin Stone Heart
10. The Great Sleep
11. The Land of Thulê
12. The Lord of the Dwarves
13. A Forgotten Realm
14. Heill Óðinn, Sire
15. The Ruins of Dwarfmount
16. The Road to Hel
17. Thulêan Sorcery
18. Descent into Niflheimr
19. Skin Traveller
20. The Dream Land
21. Thulêan Mysteries
22. The Password
23. The Loss of Thulê

Label: Byelobog Productions
Date: March 13, 2020

Burzum… Bringing the joy to us since 1991. with very interesting content. Even when Varg Vikernes started serving his prison sentence, he didn’t stop making music. Unfortunately for some, his music direction turned to ambient, which did add to the mysticism though. To those who saw it. The truth though, may well be simpler, Varg is one creative guy, and the notion for the ambience was always within him, shaped and molded over the years. Disregarding the kind of person he is, the fact is, music-wise he was different and a standout since forever, and anyone who knows the scene from its beginnings can verify. He was always original and never succumbed to whatever was trendy at the time, always serving up top shelf albums. Love him or hate him, the man is a good and a creative musician, even though he says music was never his top priority. One can only wonder what would have been, had it was…

When Varg announced the new album towards the end of 2019. nobody took that for granted, because it IS Varg. As he said himself, the songs were piling up over the years and there was enough to release an album. Well, that’s good to hear! It provided a perfect soundtrack for  Myfarog, a Mystic Fantasy Role Playing Game, which, as a gamer, designed himself. He further explained:

 Thulêan Mysteries was made passively, in the sense that I never intended to make a new album; I just made music every now and then and at one point realized that I actually had enough to release it all on an album. When asked to do so I figured: why not? It was a good idea. The music is a little bit of this and a little bit of that, transcending any genre, and perhaps belonging to many different genres. The intention with it was always to create a certain atmosphere, often related to an idea or a situation. Since my true passion has never been music, but actually tabletop role-playing games, I figured I should make this an album intended for that use; as background music for my own MYFAROG (Mythic Fantasy Role-playing Game). Hopefully you will get a sense of Thulê when you listen to this, like always with Burzum, ideally when on your own. I hope you will enjoy this soundtrack to Thulê, to Mother Nature and life itself.

It’s ungrateful to talk about Burzum nowadays. I mean, what’s there to say, everyone and their grandmother knows about it. This album proves that you can make a very good piece with minimal resources. And there’s a lot of stuff on this album, for sure. There’s medieval, ambient, some far out transcending trips although with some repeating messages. For fans of ambient and dark neo folk, this is right up your alley!

0 comment

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: