Home ReviewsReleases Review: A Constant Storm – Lava Empire

Review: A Constant Storm – Lava Empire

by Lukrecija Mesek

A Constant Storm – Lava Empire

1.  Lava Empire
2. Hollow Days (My Probation)
3. Pendulum Heart
4. Pyramid at Sunset
5. Babylonian Complex
6. Atlantis
7. Draconian Trials
8. Blood Moon
9. Pinnboard
10. Glory to the Sun

Label: Indepedent 
Date: June 12, 2020

When you think “This is it! I know it! It can’t get any crazier than this!”, there is someone to prove you wrong and to lead you to one out of two possible situations. Eather you’re gonna love it and your whole world will be changed just for moment, or you gonna want to bang your head against a spiked wall. For me this was one of those moments. So now you will see what I’m talking about. A Constant Storm is a one man band from Portugal, founded in 2013 by Daniel Laureano. My initial reaction was simply “wow”. Honestly, I think you really need to listen to this album, and it will lead you to, as previously said, two possible situations.

He describes his music as Atmospheric Black Metal (early), Melodic Death/Black Metal (later), but it was accidentally also called Dark Metal, while I think neither is true, and this is something else and it’s great.

As Markus’ Heavy Music Blog concludes about his first Full length album “Storm Alive”:

Laureno seems to be fascinated by storms since also the album includes the word.

We can’t say anything less, this album is what you would expect from Laureano. Carefully planned in detail. The story that he’s telling us trough these songs is fascinating.

The composition of songs isn’t something I would expect from metal. The combination of different elements is taking the whole thing to another level. Really powerful intro that gives you that feeling. You know the one, when you are thinking about how you’re charging into the fight. And then it slows down to tell you the story. The combination of vocals is amazing. It can easily switch between cheerful melodies and brutal attacks. Melodies and drumms are full of varieties . Everything is really nicely mixed and I was enjoying every second of it.

Most suprising song for me was “Glory To The Sun”. It has a really soothing intro that isn’t just another generic metal thing. The song is really gentle, and relaxing. It fits perfectly with the rest of the album.

This is something else than metal. This definitely goes into my library. 

You may also like