Home News Katatonia released the details of the upcoming album “The Fall Of Hearts”

Katatonia released the details of the upcoming album “The Fall Of Hearts”

by Vedrana Dobrić

Katatonia, the Swedish purveyors of dark progressive rock/metal, have revealed details of their eagerly awaited 10th studio album. The new album, entitled “The Fall of Hearts” is set for release on the 20th of May 2016 through their long-time home of Peaceville Records.

Today, they have released a new teaser with details of their highly anticipated studio album and reveal new line up, which can be seen below!

The official follow-up to 2012’s acclaimed “Dead End Kings” was recorded at Stockholm’s Studio Gröndahl & Tri-lamb Studio, and was self-produced by Anders Nyström & Jonas Renkse. Mixing and mastering duties were carried out by Jens Bogren (Opeth, Ihsahn, Devin Townsend) at Fascination Street Studios, with Karl Daniel Lidén (Switchblade, The Ocean, Greenleaf) brought in as engineer.

The dramatic yet desolate artwork was created by long time Katatonia designer and illustrator Travis Smith.

Katatonia have spent the past four years since the release of “Dead End Kings touring the world”, as well as expanding their fanbase through two special albums on Kscope, the sister label of Peaceville. 2013 saw the release of Dethroned & Uncrowned which exploded the core of the songs on “Dead End Kings” creating new moods and textures. In 2015, they released the live acoustic album and concert film “Sanctitude”. Both releases illustrate the band’s journey toward this, their current more progressive sound.

“The Fall Of Hearts” is the first record to feature new drummer Daniel “Mojjo” Moilanen and with the addition of their recently recruited guitarist Roger Öjersson (Tiamat), who came in just in time to sprinkle some blistering solos on the album, Katatonia will continue to push their musical boundaries beyond their roots in the metal scene while drawing in new fans from across the musical spectrum like peers such as Opeth and Anathema have also done, cementing Katatonia’s place as one of the most revered and cherished of all bands in the world of modern heavy music.

Katatonia comment on “The Fall Of Hearts”:

This album is probably everything we unknowingly ever dreamed of to release. It’s a bleak but adventurous journey through our elements, we haven’t held back, we have pushed to get forward and backward in the ever spiralling night of our musical legacy.


Katatonia – The Fall Of Hearts
1. Takeover
2. Serein
3. Old Heart Falls
4. Decima
5. Sanction
6. Residual
7. Serac
8. Last Song Before The Fade
9. Shifts
10. The Night Subscriber
11. Pale Flag
12. Passer
13. Vakaren (CD/DVD & Deluxe Edition)
14. Sistere (LP & Deluxe Edition)
15. Wide Awake In Quietus (Digital & Deluxe Edition)

More details about “The Fall Of Hearts” will be updated soon!

0 comment

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: