Home News Drudkh announced forthcoming album with new song “Nakryta Neba Burym Dakhom…”

Drudkh announced forthcoming album with new song “Nakryta Neba Burym Dakhom…”

by Vedrana Dobrić

Ukrainian black metal icons, Drudkh have released the first stunning track of their forthcoming new album, “Їм часто сниться капіж” (They Often See Dreams About The Spring), which will hit the stores on the 9th of March.

The opening song, “Nakryta Neba Burym Dakhom…”, which is based on a poem by Ukrainian author Bohdan Ihor Antonych (1909–1937), can be listened below.

Band’s sound is equally based on a solid foundation consisting of the by now traditional Nordic variant of this style as on the band’s highly distinct individual Slavic interpretation of it. 

Yet at the same time, they have constantly evolved, shifted, and morphed their musical approach while holding true to the original course. It is therefore no surprise that their forthcoming eleventh full-length, “They Often See Dreams About the Spring” (which is a translation of the original Ukrainian title) brings another slight correction to the general direction. Where previous album “A Furrow Cut Short” (2015) basically followed on the harsh and old school lead of its predecessor “Eternal Turn of the Wheel” (2012), Drudkh’s new masterpiece offers a more atmospheric and melodic feel that rather points towards the cinematic soundscapes of “Autumn Aurora” (2004).

In their ongoing metamorphosis, they seem to have abandoned the slightly progressive and lighter tone of “Handful of Stars” (2010) for the time being. This does not mean it can never return… The Ukrainians have for example revisited their early legacy from the Nordic black metal inspired debut “Forgotten Legends” (2003) several times, but also occasionally brought back the folklore influences that had characterised “The Swan Road” (2005). On “Blood in Our Wells” (2006) some progressive elements surfaced clearly for the first time, while the instrumental and partly acoustic “Songs of Grief and Solitude” (2006) was followed by a sharp turn on the bleak and brutal album, “Estrangement” (2007). Band’s celebrated highlight, “Microcosmos” (2009) finally appeared to tie up the different strands of their previous works, before a new cycle started with the next albums.

Drudkh’s latest albums and split-singles have drawn heavily from 20th century Ukrainian poetry for lyrical inspiration and “They Often See Dreams About the Spring” continues this trend. Poetic gems from Bohdan Ihor Antonych, Maik Yohansen, Vasyl’ Bobyns’kyi and Pavlo Fylypovych have been unearthed by the band and brought back to life on this album. ‘They Often See Dreams About the Spring’ delivers black metal poetry at its best. Let your ears hear and your mind wander… 


Drudkh –  Їм часто сниться капіж
1. Nakryta Neba Burym Dakhom… (9:53)
2. U Dakhiv Irzhavim Kolossyu… (8:43)
3. Vechirniy Smerk Okutuye Kimnaty… (9:29)
4. Za Zoreyu Scho Striloyu Syaye… (6:45)
5. Bilyavyi Den’ Vtomyvsya I prytykh… (8:40)

0 comment

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: