Home News DEFOCUS have released their third single / video ‘Diverge’

DEFOCUS have released their third single / video ‘Diverge’

by Metal Jacket

Germany’s metalcore quartet DEFOCUS have released their third single / video ‘Diverge‘ feat. Tom Brümmer (THE OKLAHOMA KID) taken from their upcoming debut »In The Eye Of Death We Are All The Same«, due for release on 2nd July via Arising Empire!

»In The Eye Of Death We Are All The Same« will be available as exclusive pre-order bundles at Impericon.

“‘Diverge’ was one of the first songs we wrote for Defocus. It was crucial for the sound of our debut album ‘In The Eye Of Death We Are All The Same’. ‘Diverge’ combines the best aspects of our first two singles: the heaviness and brutality of ‘Common Grave’ and the atmosphere of ‘Thought Of A Vision’. The feature of The Oklahoma Kid´s vocalist Tom Brümmer turns ‘Diverge’ into a song that stays right in your head and encourages you to sing along.“ – Bambam (bass)

Streaming Purchase: https://Defocus.lnk.to/diverge
Pre-order the debut »In The Eye Of Death We Are All The Same« HERE

With the upcoming release of »In The Eye Of Death We Are All The Same«, DEFOCUS enter the metal scene with a record full of heavy, low-tuned songs. A deep-dive into the world we are living in and how we are all affected by it,  »In The Eye Of Death We Are All The Same« is a punishing album deserving of your attention.

Exceedingly low guitars and driving rhythms are paired with dark and ambient melodies, to create a melancholic atmosphere for their thrilling sound, offering a taste of what’s to come from the promising four-piece.

With the COVID-19 pandemic in full swing DEFOCUS recorded the tracks remotely from home, before they were mixed and mastered by Christoph Wieczorek (ANNISOKAY) from Sawdust Recordings, who truly captured their crushing and impulsive take on modern metalcore.

»In The Eye Of Death We Are All The Same« tracklisting:
1. Thought of a Vision
2. In Our Heads
3. Immerse Me
4. Common Grave
5. Tides (Interlude)
6. Diverge (Feat. Tom Brümmer)
7. Can You See Me?
8. Disease
9. Shelter

Founded by Simon Müller, Jeffrey Uhlmann, Jonas Mahler and Marcel “Bambam” Heberling, the Aalen quartet spent time making music together before coming to light in early 2019, instantly proving their worth in the scene with their energetic live shows.

Faced with the global COVID-19 pandemic, DEFOCUS got to work on their material through countless extensive late-night online sessions, allowing every member to contribute their individual ideas and emotions.

“I remember that when we started to write all this material, everyone was on the same page from the beginning and we knew exactly which direction we wanted to go, but at the same time everyone took inspiration from different sources. Seeing all this material finally come together in the end makes me super happy, because the writing process and everything around it really defined who we are as a band and resulted in a pure milestone everyone in the band can 100% identify with.”Jeffrey

Simon Müller | Vocals
Jeffrey Uhlmann | Guitar
Marcel “Bambam” Heberling | Bass
Jonas Mahler | Drums

0 comment

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: