Home News Amaurot’s debut full-length, …To Tread the Ancient Waters, is now ready to be unleashed

Amaurot’s debut full-length, …To Tread the Ancient Waters, is now ready to be unleashed

by Natas Dog

Sweden and German-based gothic/death-doom metal group Amaurot’s debut full-length, …To Tread the Ancient Waters, is now ready to be unleashed upon the world on 30 September 2022 via Obelisk Polaris Productions on CD and digital formats. The album features guest appearances from Rogga Johansson (Massacre, Paganizer), Sabine Meusel (Xiphea), Sean Vukovic (Forsaken), and Marcus Rosenkvist (Void Moon).

The seed for Amaurot was sown in 2019 when vocalist Lisa Rieger (Hydra) and guitarist Peter Svensson (Void Moon, Assassin’s Blade, ex-Goatess) got in contact to create a new band combining their talents and diverse inspirations. With Lisa providing clean vocals, background choirs and growls, and Peter playing guitar and keyboards, the line-up was completed by drummer Thomas Hedlund (ex-The Ancient’s Rebirth, Pagan Rites, Void Moon) and bassist Magnus Hultman (Cult of the Fox). Though deeply immersed in the classic doom field, Amaurot combines their sound with influences from bands like Candlemass, Draconian and early Within Temptation. 

On the debut album, …To Tread the Ancient Waters, Amaurot walks towards a forlorn state, holding darkness and mystique within. While diving deeper into the bleak hollow halls, the doom ensemble still radiates profound and precise melodies, hankering for blissful events to supersede the neverending griefs. Throughout the songs, Amaurot restores the buried thoughts, emotions, hopes, and miseries into an unknown sphere, unknowingly opening the door to a labyrinthine fate. 

Fall into the dark and drift away with Amaurot!

Track Listing:
1. Aether Child
2. Des Wanderers Leid 
3. Starless Sky
4. Ritual 
5. Gone Forever
6. To Tread the Ancient Waters
7. Loneliness
8. Phoenician Ashes

Drums, guitars, keyboards, and additional vocals recorded at Night Wind Studios by Peter Svensson.
Bass recorded at Firefly Studios by Magnus Hultman.
Vocals recorded at Rübezahl Recordings by Chris Rieger.

All songs composed by Peter Svensson and Lisa Rieger.
All songs mixed and mastered at Rübezahl Recordings by Chris Rieger. 
Artwork by Lisa Rieger.
Bandmember photos taken by Marcus Rosenkvist, Theresa Rieger, and Sarah Björklund.

Guest Vocals on “Ritual” by Sabine Meusel.
Choirs on “Ritual” by Magnus Hultman, Marcus Rosenkvist, Sabine Meusel, and Lisa Rieger.
Guest vocals on “Starless Sky”, “To Tread the Ancient Waters” and “Phoenician Ashes” by Rogga Johansson.
Guest vocals on “Starless Sky” by Marcus Rosenkvist.
Guitar solos on “Aether Child” and “Gone Forever” by Sean Vukovic.

0 comment

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: